Vegetarian Week Day 2 – You’re A What?

Food Question

In today’s modern world you don’t have to be just one thing anymore! You can be a complex mixture of different ideals and beliefs, and nowhere is this more evident than in your diet. No one these days is “just” a vegetarian anymore, there are so many subgroups, that at times it becomes difficult to keep track. So, for your education, and mine, here are just a few of the types out there:

Pescatarian (also spelled Pescetarian)
Usually used to describe those who abstain from eating all meat and animal flesh with the exception of fish.

A term recently coined to describe those who eat a mostly vegetarian diet, but occasionally eat meat.

People who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products are lacto-ovo vegetarians (“lacto” comes from the Latin for milk, and “ovo” for egg).

Used to describe a vegetarian who does not eat eggs, but does eat dairy products.

People who do not eat meat or dairy products but do eat eggs.

Vegans do not eat meat of any kind and also do not eat eggs, dairy products, or processed foods containing these or other animal-derived ingredients such as gelatin.

Raw Vegan/Raw Food Diet
A raw vegan diet consists of unprocessed vegan foods that have not been heated above 115 degrees Fahrenheit.

Revered by some for its healthy and healing qualities, includes unprocessed vegan foods, such as whole grains, fruits and vegetables, and allows the occasional consumption of fish. Sugar and refined oils are avoided.

This is nowhere close to a complete list, but it gives you a glimpse into the wonderful world of Vegetarianism and how it’s grown and changed over the years.

Leave a Reply